Birding at the Study

DSC_0236

On Saturday, I went with daughter to work to retrieve my car and do some birding at the General Lew Wallace Study & Museum. They have a Red-Shouldered Hawk pair nesting there in one of the trees. I saw one bird on the nest and moved slightly to see if the other was behind on a branch. Mind you, I was on the sidewalk quite a distance from them – about half the distance of the Study north to south. One of them flew straight for me! Of course, with the long lens on the camera, I had absolutely no chance of getting a photo! (Besides – I was making my way quickly back to the carriage house! To get my daughter and show it to her, yes, that’s why I was going quickly!!)

Also saw on the Study grounds:

  • Chickadees
  • Tufted Titmouse
  • Cardinals
  • & heard some type of woodpecker

The afternoon before, I had snapped several pictures of one of them drinking out of a wading pool.

 

red-shouldered

Categories: Birding, Montgomery County | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

